Cricket is a bat-and-ball game that originated in England and has grown into one of the world’s most popular sports. In cricket, two teams of 11 players each take turns to bat, attempting to score runs higher than one another to win the match. Cricket has been described as the gentlemen’s game globally and the ultimate in non-violent sports.

Although cricket is the most watchable sport worldwide, many people don’t know much about it but are curious to know. So for them to get a better understanding of cricket, here are the rules and types of cricket tournaments that happen in the cricketing world.

Basic Rules Of Cricket

Basic Rules Of Cricket

To make you more understand, let’s dive into the most common and basic cricket rules.

  • The bowler can bow him to dismiss the batsman by striking straight into the stumps. He can also catch him out.
  • The bowler has to throw the ball’s upper hand without breaching the given area at the bowling end. If he throws a foul or wide ball, he has to throw the ball again.
  • According to the rules, some fielders should always field inside the thirty-yard circle. 
  • While batting, if a batsman hit the stumps mistakenly, he would be given out.

These are some of the rules applied in every format of cricket. The umpire on the field takes the final decision to make sure the cricket game is being played fair.

Major Tournaments In Cricket

Cricket history is long, but the last few decades have produced several significant cricket tournaments worldwide. These tournaments are usually played by the countries competing against one another.

Tournaments can last several weeks, with teams playing each other in numerous matches. Such cricket tournaments include the T-20 World Cup, the Cricket World Cup and the ICC Champions Trophy. The Indian Premier League is also popular, during which online IPL betting is offered.

Basic Gameplay

So the people who don’t know how to play cricket or understand a thing about it, don’t worry as today they will learn all about it. So the basic gameplay of cricket includes two teams competing against each other. One team bats, attempting to score runs by striking the ball bowled at them by the other team with their bat and scoring runs to reach a target number of runs.

The other team bowls and fields, attempting to dismiss the batsman and prevent them from scoring enough runs to win by getting rid of all or as many of the batsmen as possible.

At the end of the match, the team with the higher score wins. If both teams have scored the same number of runs after their respective innings and the match has tied, the winner is determined by Super over. The batsman can make a run in several following ways. He can run between the wickets to score a one run, two runs, etc.

He can strike the ball to clear the boundaries without touching the ground, and then it would be counted as six runs. Similarly, it would be four runs if the ball goes beyond the boundary lines by rolling over the ground. 

ODI World Cup

The Cricket World Cup is an international ODI cricket competition organized by the ICC. It is among one of the most important tournaments of cricket. The first Cricket World Cup was organized in England in 1975. The participants were Australia, England, New Zealand, West Indies, and many more; West Indies was the first-ever champion of the ODI cricket world cup.

The last world cup happened in 2019 when England beat New Zealand to become the champion for the first time in their rich cricket history.

T-20 World Cup

The T-20 World Cup is an international cricket tournament organized by the ICC

The T-20 World Cup is an international cricket tournament organized by the ICC. It is played in a Twenty20 format, which means both the teams get twenty overs each to make maximum runs.

The first tournament was held in South Africa in 2007, with many teams taking part. India won the inaugural tournament and shocked the whole world as they were considered the weakest team in the tournament. The last world cup happened in 2019 when Australia lifted the world cup for the first time after beating New Zealand.

Champions Trophy

The ICC Champions Trophy is an international one-day cricket tournament organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC). The first competition was held in 1998 and was meant to be for a short period.

But the popularity of this tournament convinced the organizers to carry on with this tournament. So the last Champions Trophy tournament was held in 2017 in England and Wales.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to top